NaijaSuper 8 voting pattern to reveal clubs with fans power






Today’s announcement of results from voting for the newly introduced NaijaSuper8 tournament will reveal the clubs with fans power who will progress into the zonal playoffs.

This is clearly the real test of the degree of fan engagement clubs have been engaged in.

It is a battle of teams in the topflight Nigeria Premier Football League and the second tier Nigeria National League.

Truth be told, there is a strong possibility of Sporting Lagos, one of the second tier teams, coming through as a result of their innovative fan engagement strategy.

With strategies deployed via print, electronic, outdoor and social media to educate fans on how to vote for their favourite teams via the website and DStv Apps for over a month, results have been collated for announcement live on SuperSport Channels: Variety 4 (DStv Channel 209) and Variety 2 (GOtv Channel 64).

After the voting process, 12 teams will emerge from the 41 nominated for a playoff to produce six teams.

Two WildCard teams will be named to complete the roster. reports that this is the first time in Nigerian that fans will influence the participation of teams in a competition.

SuperSport’s On Air Personalities; Chisom Mbonu-Ezeoke and Mozez Praiz, will anchor the programme live from 7:30pm this evening.

Afrobeats super star, Crayon, will be performing during the live event.

Who gets into the playoffs? Don’t miss the live telecast on SuperSport.

Sponsors of the tournament packaged by FLYKITE Productions include DStv, GOtv MTN, moniepoint, HERO, SuperSport and PEPSI.


Nominated Teams 

North Central: 7 Clubs

Lobi Stars (Makurdi, Benue State), Plateau United (Jos, Plateau State), Nasarawa United (Lafia, Nasarawa State), Kwara United (Ilorin, Kwara State), Kogi United (Lokoja, Kogi State), City FC (Abuja), Niger Tornadoes (Minna, Niger State).

North East: 6 Clubs

Adamawa United (Yola, Adamawa State), El-Kanemi Warriors (Maiduguri, Borno State), Gombe United (Gombe, Gombe State), Taraba United (Jalingo, Taraba State), Wikki Tourists (Bauchi, Bauchi State), Yobe Desert Stars (Damaturu, Yobe State).

North West: 7 Clubs

Jigawa Golden Stars (Dutse, Jigawa State), Kaduna United (Kaduna, Kaduna State), Kano Pillars (Kano, Kano State), Katsina United (Katsina, Katsina State), Kebbi United (Birnin Kebbi, Kebbi State), Sokoto United (Sokoto, Sokoto State), Zamfara United (Gusau, Zamfara State).

South East: 6 Clubs

Enyimba (Aba, Abia State), Cynosure (Abakaliki, Ebonyi State), Edel (Awka, Anambra State), Heartland (Owerri, Imo State), Abia Warriors (Umuahia, Abia State), Rangers (Enugu, Enugu State)

South South: 7 Clubs

Akwa United (Uyo, Akwa Ibom State), Bayelsa United (Yenagoa, Bayelsa State), Bendel Insurance (Benin-City, Edo State), Rivers United (Port-Harcourt, Rivers State), Rovers (Calabar, Cross Rivers State), Vandrezzer (Eket, Akwa Ibom State), Warri Wolves (Warri, Delta State).

South West: 8 Clubs

Shooting Stars Sports Club (Ibadan, Oyo State), Crown (Ogbomosho, Oyo State), Ekiti United (Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State), Ikorodu City (Ikorodu, Lagos State), Remo Stars (Ikenne, Oyo State), Smart City (Surulere, Lagos State), Sporting Lagos (Surulere, Lagos State), Sunshine Stars (Akure, Ondo State).




About Ojeikere Aikhoje

Check Also

LALIGA: Using unique LALIGA ExtraTime to showcase pioneering trends in football

LALIGA, a global leader in the sports industry and pioneer of the biggest football ecosystem …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *