Rangers win 8th NPFL title in style



Rangers International, on Sunday claimed their 8th Nigeria Premier Football League title with one round of matches to the end of the season after a 2-0 win over traditional rivals, Bendel Insurance.

Victory was confirmed after their closest rivals, Remo Stars and Enyimba lost in Akure and Lagos, respectively.

Goals for Kenechukwu Agu and Chidiebere Nwobodo ensure victory in front of a partisan crowd which included Enugu State Governor, Dr. Peter Mbah.

This is the first time Rangers will win the title since their last victory in 2016.

Rangers was one of the teams that campaigned in the first ever Nigerian League in 1972 and won their first title two years later, in 1974. The feat was repeated in 1975, 1977, 1981, 1982 and 1984.




About SBB-12889492

Check Also

130th Anniversary: Iconic FirstBank Unveils ‘Giant In You’ Brand Campaign to boost potentials of individuals and businesses

    FirstBank, the iconic financial institution in Nigeria’s financial sector continues to remain on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *