Dozy Mmobousi Super Cup boost domestic competitions in Nigeria







For the first time since the Nigerian League debuted in 1972, a new tournament: Dozy Mmobousi Super Cup, to be competed for by the famous four clubs in the country will debut next month to boost domestic competitions.


The quartet of Enugu Rangers, Bendel Insurance, Shooting Stars Sports, formerly called IICC Shooting Stars and Enyimba will battle for the N100million jackpot.

Sponsored by The Dozy Mmbousi Foundation, it is packaged by Tingo Media, in collaboration with the Nigeria Professional Football League and becomes the third tournament after the NPFL and Aiteo Cup.. gathered that the heritage of the teams was considered for their invitation to the tournament.

All four are big club brands with fans spread across the continent based on their history and records.

The first edition serves as a test run for what will later become a Top 8 Tournament.

Action gets underway from December 1, 2022, at the Mobolaji Johnson Stadium Onikan, Lagos.


Continental Records

 The trio of Insurance, Shooting Stars and Rangers were members of the inaugural league in 1972, while Enyimba became a powerhouse in 2001.

Another notable factor that favoured the quartet is that fact that the quartet are the only in the top flight that have won continental titles in the country.

Shooting Stars won the defunct Africa Cup Winners Cup, in 1976 and added the defunct CAF Cup to their cabinet in 1992.

Rangers claimed the Cup Winners Cup in 1977.

Bendel Insurance claimed the CAF Cup in 1994 to make a splash in the continent after missing out in the Champions Cup.

Before winning the CAF Cup, Shootings reached the finals of the Africa Cup of Champions Clubs, now CAF Champions League, in 1984 and 1996, but lost both finals to Zamalek.

If the 1990s belonged to the trio, the new century has been clearly dominated by Enyimba.

Formed in 197 as Falcons of Aba, the team became the first Nigerian side to win the CAF Champions League, in 2003 and added a second title in 2004.


Domestic Records


The quartet are famous for domineering roles in the domestic league and Cup tournaments.

Insurance won their first title in 1973, with Rangers dethroning the Benin Arsenals in 1974. The Enugu side won again in 1975 before losing the title to Shooting Stars in 1976.

From 1977 through 1984 the title was again shared by the trio, but Raccah Rovers claimed it in 1978.

Insurance have since struggled to claim another title, but Rangers won in 1984 and after 32 years made a grand return as champions.

Shooting Stars won in 1995 and 1998 before the new clubs pushed them out of reckoning.

Since their first title in 2001, Enyimba has added seven more to become the most successful club in the league.


Enyimba        8

Rangers         7

Shooting Stars 5

Bendel Insurance 2


 Aiteo Cup

The quartet are amongst the most successful teams in the Nigerian Cup.

Rangers 6

Shooting Stars 4

Enyimba 4

Bendel Insurance 3


About Ojeikere Aikhoje

Check Also

130th Anniversary: Iconic FirstBank Unveils ‘Giant In You’ Brand Campaign to boost potentials of individuals and businesses

    FirstBank, the iconic financial institution in Nigeria’s financial sector continues to remain on …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *