NaijaSuper 8 race for votes ends next week




It is a week to go in the race for votes from fans in the inaugural fan-centric NaijaSuper 8 Tournament as voting ends next week.

Voting started on April 10 and will continue till May 10 when votes collated will determine eventual participants, in the tournament.

The intensity has reached an-all time high as clubs rallied their supporters to secure a spot in the historic Cup.

Forty-One teams across the country in the first and second level of the league structure in Nigeria were nominated to contest for votes.

Enyimba, Bendel Insurance, Lobi Stars, Rangers, Kano Pillars, Shooting Stars and Rivers United are amongst the top sides in the race.

Despite the status of these teams in the land, no team is guaranteed a place until voting is concluded as fans rush to make sure their favourite teams are part of this novel concept.

“It is a fantastic concept aimed at raising awareness for fans to come behind their teams. This is a wake up calls for fans and clubs”, former Enyimba and Ghana striker, Joetex Frimpong said to



Two teams with the highest votes from each of the six geo-political regions in the country will earn slots in the zonal playoffs and winners will join two WildCard teams to complete the eight to contest the NaijaSuper 8 tournament.

The PlayOffs will be decided in the Akwa-Ibom state capital, Uyo, while the NaijaSuper 8 is scheduled for the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Onikan.

Teams that make it from the voting process will receive N2million each.

The eight qualified teams will be divided into two groups and there will be four teams in each group.

After three matches in both groups, the top two will advance to the semi finals.



Winner of the tournament will get N25million, while the runner-up will receive N9million.

About Ojeikere Aikhoje

Check Also

LALIGA: Using unique LALIGA ExtraTime to showcase pioneering trends in football

LALIGA, a global leader in the sports industry and pioneer of the biggest football ecosystem …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *